You are here
Home > Featured > Garber Bangali 2021 Award honours popular Bengali personalites in Kolkata on Poila Baishak

Garber Bangali 2021 Award honours popular Bengali personalites in Kolkata on Poila Baishak

Garber Bangali 2021 Award

No other date could have been auspicious than Poila Baishakh or Bengali New Year to honour some of the brightest and famous luminaries of West Bengal, who have brought national and international glory.

On the first day of the Bengali calendar, Mr Deep Chakraborty of Nucleous Publication will honour the eminent Bengali talents, who shone brightly in the field of music, sports, art, film, education, science, and business through his noble initiative, “Garber Bangali 2021.”

Mr Deep Chakraborty of Nucleous Publication will felicitate the great Bengali achievers, who are working in various fields across the globe.

This year, on Poila Baishakh (April 15), the Garber Bangali 2021 Award will be given to some brightest Bengalis — director Kaushik Ganguly (Garber Bangali Award), filmmaker Gautam Ghosh (Lifetime Achievement Award), singer Anweshaa (Garber Bangali Award), singer Shaan (Garber Bangali Award), singer Pandit Ajay Chakrabarty (Lifetime Achievement Award), singer Arati Mukhopadhyay (Lifetime achievement Award), painter Subrata Chowdhury (Garber Bangali Award), painter Ganesh Haloi (Lifetime Achievement Award), poet Srijato (Literature, Garber Bangali Award), author Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay (Lifetime Achievement Award), dancer Dona Ganguly (Garber Bangali Award), Actress Koel Mallick (Garber Bangali Award), BCCI President Sourav Ganguly (Sports Personality, Lifetime Achievement Award), singer Nachiketa (Garber Bangali Award), actor Kharaj Mukherjee (Garber Bangali Award), businessmen Shyamal and Shreyasi Karmakar (Garber Bangali Award), educationist Swapna Garai (Garber Bangali Award), journalist Rupak Saha (Garber Bangali Award), entrepreneur Sanjay Mukherjee (Garber Bangali Award), and JP Sarkar (Garber Bangali Award). The award show will be celebrated with much fervour and happiness at ITC Royal Bengal, Kolkata. All the aforementioned celebrities will be awarded for their significant contribution to society and making Bengal proud nationally and internationally.

For Mr Deep Chakraborty, the main intention to hold Garber Bangali 2021 Award is being given recognition to those gems among Bengalis who have contributed to society. “We want to recognize and honour rarest Bengali talents who have made a significant contribution to the society,” said Mr Deep Chakraborty, who also is the editor of Bengali magazine Dana. In fact,

Meanwhile, on April 3, a press conference was organized to announce the ‘Garber Bangali 2021 Award’ show. Present on the occasion was Mr Deep Chakraborty, singer Nachiketa Chakraborty, actors Koel Mullick, Kharaj Mukherjee and singer Anweshaa Dattagupta at ITC Royal Bengal, Kolkata.

Mr Deep Chakraborty said that they had a lot of eminent Bengali personalities on their list, who they wanted to felicitate. “There are a lot of such personalities. This year we have selected a few on the vote of culturally inclined people. But this is the beginning. We’ll try to cover up all,” he said.

Also, 2021 marks the 15 years of Dana, a monthly Bengali journal, which is being published from Kolkata for the last several years. The special Baisaikhi issue of Dana Magazine will be published and the top order Bengali celebrities will be felicitated with the ‘Garber Bangali 2021 Award’.

Mr Deep Chakborty, who was an IAS officer, is also the editor of the Dana Magazine. He has grand plans for publication in the future. “We want the inclusion of all Bengalis throughout the world to get one platform where language, heritage, and culture will be preserved through Dana,” he said. He also promised that more such ‘Garber Bangali’ Awards will be organized in the coming years, too, where relevant Bengalis from all fields will be felicitated.

Mr Deep Chakraborty says that Dana Samman 2021 will now be a part of their annual calendar. So, we can’t wait to watch out for the next edition of the award ceremony.

Recipients of Garber Bangali 2021 Award

1. Kaushik Ganguly – Film Director- Garber Bangali Award

2. Goutam Ghosh – Film Director – Lifetime Achievement Award

3. Anweshaa – Singer – Garber Bangali Award

4. Shaan- Singer- Garber Bangali Award

5. Pandit Ajay Chakrabarty– Singer- Lifetime achievement Award

6. Arati Mukhopadhyay- Singer– Lifetime achievement Award

7. Subrata Chowdhury – Painter Garber Bangali Award

8. Ganesh Haloi – Painter- Lifetime achievement Award

9. Srijato – Poet (Literature) – Garber Bangali Award

10. Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay – Writer – Lifetime Achievement Award

11. Dona Ganguly – Dancer – Garber Bangali TV Award

12. Koel Mallick – Actress (Film)- Garber Bangali Award

13. Sourav Ganguly – Sports Personality – Lifetime Achievement Award

14. Nachiketa – Singer – Garber Bangali Award

15. Kharaj Mukherjee – Actor – Garber Bangali Award

16. Shyamal and Shreyasi Karmakar – Business – Garber Bangali Award

17. Swapna Garai– Educationist – Garber Bangali Award

18. Rupak Saha– Journalist – Garber Bangali Award

19. Sanjay Mukherjee – Entrepreneur – Garber Bangali Award

20. JP Sarkar – Scientist – Garber Bangali Award